Spatial Description

The Masilonyana Local Municipality (FS181) was established in term of the Municipal Structure Act and the Municipal Demarcation Act. The municipality forms part of Lejweleputswa District Municipality (FS184). The municipality head office, Theunissen is situated 102 kilometers from Bloemfontein and approximately 55 kilometers from Welkom.The municipality comprises of former five Transitional Local Councils, that is, Theunissen, Brandfort, Winburg, Verkeerdevlei and Soutpan.